Review: Down Too Deep by J. Daniels

What’s the Story? (from Goodreads):

Fans of Christina Lauren and Colleen Hoover will love this sexy and emotional fourth book in the New York Times bestselling Dirty Deeds series.

Following the sudden death of his wife, Nathan Bell has spent nearly two years burying himself in work and neglecting his biggest responsibility: his daughter. Overcome with guilt, he wants to connect with little Marley, but he doesn’t know how to do it alone. And then Jenna Savage throws him a lifeline.

A single mom of twins, Jenna is more than capable of taking care of Nate’s adorable two-year-old, and wants to help Nathan however she can. Soon, attachments are made, forcing Jenna and her kids into new territory. And the closer everyone becomes, the more right it feels.

Falling in love forces Nathan to face his biggest fear, and when hearts, both big and little, are on the line, the only thing scarier than needing someone is losing them all.

Review:

There were so many feelings wrapped up in this one book. I find myself still reflecting on this one, even days after I’ve finished it. This is probably one of the best romances I’ve ever read with single parents. I could tell immediately that Jenna and Nathan were well loved characters. The children were not just some secondary characters that fell by the wayside, they were a part of the love story too.

I truly love how J. Daniels took the time to reflect on postpartum depression and suicide. I lost both my mother and brother to suicide and whenever it is in a book I brace myself. I take a deep breath and hope that it is talked about in a way that doesn’t make me cringe. Daniels helped Nathan reflect on his wife in a way that made me tear up, the emotions were raw and real.

Nathan and Jenna found a balance. It wasn’t instant love and it wasn’t a perfect love. They earned their happy ending. Two families coming together is always tricky but as Nathan showed us, if you are willing to be open things can happen. Good things.

I loved, LOVED this book. I can’t wait to go back and read the others in the series that I haven’t had the pleasure of reading. I cannot wait!

Rating:

Leave a Reply